The Mamas And The Papas - Collected (MOVLP1817) 2 LP Set

The Mamas And The Papas - Collected (MOVLP1817) 2 LP Set

  • £30.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Mamas & The Papas were formed by husband and wife John and Michelle Phillips, formerly of The New Journeymen, and Denny Doherty, formerly of The Mugwumps. The last member to join was Cass Elliot, Doherty's bandmate in The Mugwumps. The group considered calling itself The Magic Cyrcle before switching to The Mamas and the Papas as apparently inspired by the Hells Angels, whose female associates were called "mamas".

They released a total of five studio albums and seventeen singles over a four-year period, six of which made the Billboard top ten, and sold close to 40 million records worldwide. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1998 for their contributions to the music industry.

The band's first single, "Go Where You Wanna Go", was released in 1965. The second single, "California Dreamin'", was released later in 1965 and quickly peaked in the charts. The band's album, If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears, was released in March 1966 and became the band's only number 1 album on the Billboard 200. The third and final single from their debut was "Monday, Monday", which became the band's only US number 1 hit. The song brought the band international success.

In 1966 they recorded their second album The Mamas And The Papas. "I Saw Her Again" was the first single from the album before release. When the album was released in 1966, it peaked at number four in the US, continuing the band's success. "Words of Love" was released as the second single and "Dancing in the Street" was released as the third and final single.

Deliver came in the autumn of 1966. The album featured the singles "Look Through My Window", "Dedicated To The One I Love" and "Creeque Alley". Shortly afterward, a non-album single called "Glad to be Unhappy" was released.

Mama Cass Elliot had a successful solo career becoming popular with hits such as "Make Your Own Kind of Music" and "It's Getting Better".

COLLECTED is a perfect overview of the multiple classic hits and tracks throughout the career of The Mamas & The Papas and complimented with several popular tracks by Mama Cass Elliot.

180 gram audiophile vinyl

1. California Dreamin'
2. Monday, Monday
3. Go Where You Wanna Go
4. Somebody Groovy
5. Got A Feelin'
6. Straight Shooter
7. Do You Wanna Dance
8. You Baby
9. I Saw Her Again Last Night
10. Even If I Could
11. Words Of Love
12. Dancing In The Street
13. Strange Young Girls
14. No Salt On Her Tail
15. Trip, Stumble & Fall
16. Creeque Alley
17. Dedicated To The One I Love
18. Look Through My Window
19. Sing For Your Supper
20. My Girl
21. Glad To Be Unhappy
22. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
23. Safe In My Garden
24. Too Late
25. Twelve Thirty
26. Rooms
27. Midnight Voyage
28. For The Love Of Ivy
29. Step Out
30. Pearl
31. People Like Us
32. It's Getting Better
33. Make Your Own Kind Of Music
34. Welcome To The World