Shuggie Otis - Freedom Flight LP-Orchard Records

Shuggie Otis - Freedom Flight (MOVLP1339) LP

  • £25.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Freedom Flight, released in the Fall of 1971, is the second album by Shuggie Otis. The album is every bit as adventurous as Shuggie Otis' 1974 masterpiece Inspiration Information [MOVLP867]. It's a bit rawer, not quite as lush, but it is every bit as visionary and groundbreaking.

Produced by Shuggie's father, Johnny Otis, the album features seven stellar, genre bending cuts, most of which were written or co-written by Shuggie. He played everything from guitars, bass, organ to various percussion instruments. "Me and My Woman" is one of the funkiest Blues tunes ever recorded.

Additional musicians include Wilton Felder, Stix Hooper, Aynsley Dunbar, Preston Love, George Duke and vocalists Clydie King, Venetta Field, and Shirley Matthews.

1. Ice Cold Daydream
2. Strawberry Letter 23
3. Sweet Thang
4. Me And My Woman
5. Someone's Always Singing
6. Purple
7. Freedom Flight