The Modern Lovers - Rock 'n' Roll With The Modern Lovers (MOVLP2461) LP Orange Vinyl

The Modern Lovers - Rock 'n' Roll With The Modern Lovers (MOVLP2461) LP Orange Vinyl

  • £26.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Rock 'n Roll with the Modern Lovers is the second album released as Jonathan Richman and The Modern Lovers. The band, which is built around singer-songwriter and guitarist Jonathan Richman, almost totally focuses on the sound from the '50s. The lo-fi record breathes folky roots music and rock 'n roll as it would sound ages ago. "Ice Cream Man", "Egyptian Reggae" (earning them a UK Top 5 hit) and "Roller Coaster by the Sea" are all superb songs, uncomplicated and wonderful. This is one of the most remarkable projects recorded by Jonathan.

The Modern Lovers were formed in 1970 by teenage singer, songwriter, guitarist Jonathan Richman, augmented with Jerry Harrison (keyboards), Ernie Brooks (bass) and David Robinson (drums), with Richman's friend and original band member John Felice joining them occasionally.

Rock 'n Roll With The Modern Lovers is available as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on orange coloured vinyl.

1. The Sweeping Wind (Kwa Ti Feng)
2. Ice Cream Man
3. Rockin' Rockin' Leprechauns
4. Summer Morning
5. Afternoon
6. Fly Into The Mystery
7. South American Folk Song
8. Roller Coaster By The Sea
9. Dodge Veg-O-Matic
10. Egyptian Reggae
11. Coomyah
12. The Wheels On The Bus
13. Angels Watching Over Me