Procol Harum - Procol Harum LP (MOVLP1802)-Orchard Records

Procol Harum - Procol Harum (MOVLP1802) LP

  • £25.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Procol Harum was a big contributor to the development of symphonic rock, and by extension, progressive rock.

Procol Harum is the eponymous debut studio album by the English rock band. Originally released in 1967 it now celebrates its 50th year anniversary. Though the album was recorded on multi-track, it was issued as mono-only in the U.K.

All songs were originally credited written to Gary Brooker (music) and Keith Reid (lyrics), except "Repent Walpurgis" written by Matthew Fisher, after works by French organist Charles-Marie Widor and German composer Johann Sebastian Bach.

Procol Harum's lyricist Keith Reid told Songfacts that the music for "Conquistador" was written before the lyrics. He added that this was unusual as "99 out of 100" of the band's songs, back then, "were written the words first, and then were set to music". The track "Salad Days (Are Here Again)" is credited as being from the film Separation.

180 gram audiophile vinyl

1. Conquistador
2. She Wandered Through The Garden Fence
3. Something Following Me
4. Mabel
5. Cerdes (Outside The Gates Of)
6. A Christmas Camel
7. Kaleidoscope
8. Salad Days (Are Here Again)
9. Good Captain Clack
10. Repent Walpurgis