Nick Drake - Bryter Layter LP (3734755) - Orchard Records

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter (3734755) LP

  • £24.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bryter Layter, recorded in 1970 and released in March 1971, is the second of three albums by Nick Drake. Like Five Leaves Left, the album contains no unaccompanied songs: Drake was accompanied by part of the British folk rock group Fairport Convention and John Cale from The Velvet Underground, as well as Beach Boys musicians Mike Kowalski and Ed Carter. Arranger Robert Kirby claims that Drake intended the instrumentals to evoke Pet Sounds. Initially scheduled for release in November 1970, with UK promotional copies being sent out at the time, dissatisfaction with the artwork meant that the album was held over into the New Year. Upon release Mojo called the album "Certainly the most polished of his catalogue" while Alternative Press called it "[one] of the most beautiful and melancholy albums ever recorded"

1. Introduction
2. Hazey Jane II
3. At The Chime Of A City Clock
4. One Of These Things First
5. Hazey Jane I
6. Bryter Layter
7. Fly
8. Poor Boy
9. Northern Sky
10. Sunday