Marcia Griffiths - Essential Artist Collection (53887302) 2 LP Set Light Green Vinyl

  • £29.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Arguably the greatest female singer in the history of Jamaican music, Marcia Griffiths first made her mark the Jamaican music scene with a number of popular singles during the late Sixties, before finding international fame in 1970 alongside her long-term friend and sometime collaborator, Bob Andy.

Bob & Marcia’s uplifting reggae version of Nina Simone’s inspiring song, ‘(To Be) Young, Gifted & Black’ hit number 5 in the UK pop chart, with the single proving to be the first of two British chartbusters, with their exuberant interpretation of Pied Piper’ just missing out on a Top 10 placing the following year.

Soon after, Marcia became a member of Bob Marley’s famed backing group, the I-Threes, while also continuing to enjoy solo success with numerous Jamaican hits for a variety of record producers throughout the remainder of the Seventies and well beyond.

And it is the very best of her solo work that features on this ‘Essential Artist’ compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records’ newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica’s best-loved ‘foundation’ artists

1. I'm Hurting Inside
2. We've Got to Get Ourselves Together (with Bob Andy)
3. Peaceful Woman
4. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
5. Steppin' Out of Babylon
6. I See You, My Love
7. Sweet Brown Sugar
8. Put a Little Love In Your Heart
9. Survival (Is the Game)
10. Pied Piper (with Bob Andy)
11. Feel Like Jumping
12. Play Me
13. Tell Me Now
14. Your Love (with Bob Andy)
15. Dreamland (aka My Dream Island)
16. Sweet Bitter Love
17. Melody Life
18. I Don't Care (with Bob Andy)
19. Mark My Word
20. I Just Don't Want to Be Lonely
21. Truly
22. To Be Young Gifted and Black (with Bob Andy)
23. Working to the Top (My Ambition), Pt. One
24. But I Do
25. Sugar Wooga Man
26. There's No Me Without You
27. Don't Ever Leave
28. You Are Mine (with Bob Andy)