Lloyd Cole - On Pain (0218643EMU) LP

  • £26.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Through both his work being the front man of The Commotions and his solo career, Lloyd Cole established himself as one of the most articulate and acute songwriters of the post-punk era. He formed The Commotions in 1982 while studying philosophy at the University of Glasgow. What originally started as a hobby for students, largely through Cole’s sophisticated style of writing, soon became a creative force to be reckoned with. The band’s debut, “Rattlesnakes” was a wry, heartfelt record of jangling guitar pop that was rich with references to the likes of Simone De Beauvoir, Norman Mailer, or Jules et Jim.
The brilliance of this songwriting subsequently took over to his solo work, when he departed from The Commotions in 1987 to move to New York and establish himself as a solo artist. Undergoing several artistic shifts, from minimalistic to folk-rock-inspired to electronic, Cole’s work never compromised the high creative value that he has proven to
provide over his distinguished career. His artistic integrity and proven divergence make him one of the most capable and remarkable songwriters to this day.

1. On Pain
2. Warm By The Fire
3. I Can Hear Everything
4. The Idiot
5. You Are Here Now
6. This Can’t Be Happening
7. More Of What You Are
8. Wolves