Indigo Girls - Indigo Girls (MOVLP1646) LP

Indigo Girls - Indigo Girls (MOVLP1646) LP

  • £26.99
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

After a limited self-financed release, this self-titled album can be seen as the proper debut by Indigo Girls. The album immediately boosted them up the charts, earning them a Grammy Award back in 1989, eventually reaching Platinum in 1991. Featuring the complementing songwriting of Emily Saliers and Amy Ray and guest vocals by R.E.M.'s Michael Stipe, the album is a showcase for jangling folk-rock, beautiful balladry, and poetic lyrics. A delighted piece in which their harmonies are easy and lovely and the whole record is infused with a kind of gentle innocence.

In the wake of the new acoustic song-based styles of Suzanne Vega, Tracy Chapman and 10,000 Maniacs, Indigo Girls would manage to garner mainstream success and maintain their rabid core following throughout the three decades after this release.

The track "Closer to Fine" gained new spotlight in 2023 after it featured in the blockbuster film Barbie by Greta Gerwig during a pivotal scene.

Indigo Girls is available on black vinyl and includes an insert.

1. Closer To Fine
2. Secure Yourself
3. Kid Fears
4. Prince Of Darkness
5. Blood And Fire
6. Tried To Be True
7. Loves Recovery
8. Land Of Canaan
9. Center Stage
10. History Of Us