Curtis Mayfield - Curtis/Live! 2LP Set (MOVLP1300)-Orchard Records

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis/Live! (MOVLP1300) 2 LP Set

  • $39.00
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Curtis/Live! is Curtis Mayfield's first live album, after leaving The Impressions. Originally released in 1971 as a double LP on Mayfield's Curtom label, the album's 16 tracks — along with Mayfield's interstitial raps on the politics of the day — were recorded at Paul Colby's 230 seater Bitter End nightclub in New York City.

Mayfield and his band's first set at a Bitter End date in January 1971 comprised the bulk of the music presented here. Mixed primarily with Eddie Kramer at Electric Lady Studios, the album features Henry Gibson playing percussion, Craig McMullen on rhythm guitar, Joseph "Lucky" Scott on bass, and Tyrone McCullen on drums.

Many critics feel Live! is a powerful demonstration of Mayfield's pre-Superfly accomplishment, and some even said it's one of the greatest concert albums ever cut on a soul artist, and one of the legendary live albums of all time.

1. Mighty Mighty (Spade And Whitey)
2. I Plan To Stay A Believer
3. We're A Winner
4. We've Only Just Begun
5. People Get Ready
6. Stare And Stare
7. Check Out Your Mind
8. Gypsy Woman
9. The Makings Of You
10. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
11. (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Gonna Going To Go
12. Stone Junkie
13. Superfly (1973)
14. Mighty Mighty (Spade And Whitey) (Single Version)